Ted Talk – Margaret Heffernan: Dare To Disagree

 

I won’t lie, it may seem as if I only picked this talk because it was headlined when you open Ted.Com – But, I promise this is definitely not the reason I chose this topic.

See – I was having trouble accessing all of the video’s & I saw this topic video in the begining. I saw the title, and it grabbed me. “Dare to Disagree” – it just has a way of making you pay attention. This is a topic that I’ve run across a lot lately! I’ve been having many discussions about allowing yourself to say NO! and fight for what you believe in, and what you know. So, of course, I clicked on it, & man oh man! I was blown away by what Margaret had to say. The topics she discusses grab at you, they suck you in! And a 12 minute video felt like only seconds had gone by. She had my complete and total attention, from the start! 

She discuss how corporations have lost their abilities to have a voice, to fight for what they know is wrong or what could be wrong. A survey she discusses showed that 85 % of big corporations have been said to have the inability to fight for something they know is untrue or could save time and maybe even lives! This is definitely something I’m interested in, & would love to look at more during this course. At the end she says “Most of the biggest catastrophes we’ve occurred rarely come from information that is secret, but in actuality comes from information that is public knowledge, that is well known.” 

 

“Openness isn’t the end – it’s the beginning.” 

Leave a comment